Why Azerbaijan?

“And so let us always meet each other with a smile, for the smile is the beginning of love, and once we begin to love each other naturally we want to do something.” 
-Mother Teresa
Nobel Lecture, December 11, 1979

I’ve been to Azerbaijan twice, and I will most definitely go back.

Often when I ask people what they know about Azerbaijan, they say “oil, Eurovision Song Contest and Baku”. That’s not a lot considering there’s 9 million people living there. How could it be that a country in the middle of Iran, Turkey, Russia and the Caspian Sea, who all are more widely known here in Norway, is so rarely mentioned?

I don’t know, but I can show you some of the reason why I’m so interested in Azerbaijan, the culture and the people, and where my love for the country comes from. All pictures are taken in October 2011 and October 2012.

By: Ole Hofsøy

Az1
Baku seen from the promenade next to the Caspian Sea
Az2
Cleaning of Fountain Square, Baku
Az4
Evening traffic in Baku
Az5
Construction of the Flame Towers in Baku, October 2012
Az6
Lada seen in the old town, Baku
Az7
A local salesman on the way from Baku to Sheki
Az8
A mechanic outside of Sheki
Az9
A young boy in Surakhani Raion, outside Baku

Leave a comment